Watch the last Triple Crown winner in U.S. horse racing

Metropolitan Museum of Art via Flickr

With a win in the 140th Preakness Stakes on Saturday, American Pharoah is in line to become the first horse to win thoroughbred racing's Triple Crown since Affirmed in 1978.

Since then, 13 horses have failed to win the Belmont Stakes after sweeping the fields in the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness.

The history of American thoroughbred Triple Crown Winners is absolutely bizarre. There have been 11 since 1919, when Sir Barton became the first. Then there were three in the 1930s, four in the '40s, and three in the '70s. None in the '20s, '50s, '60s, and '80s up through now.

Here's hoping American Pharoah breaks a 37-year Triple Crown drought. In the meantime, watch Affirmed's nose-length win over arch-rival Alydar in the Belmont Stakes, with the legendary Chic Anderson calling the race.

This story, "Watch the last Triple Crown winner in U.S. horse racing " was originally published by Fritterati.

Shop Tech Products at Amazon